Monthly Archives: March 2015

Daily Eagle: Artists use store windows as canvasses in Bay Ridge show

the-l-07-2014Artists use store windows as canvasses in Bay Ridge show
By Paula Katinas

Store windows on Fifth Avenue in Bay Ridge will become mini-art galleries in May, thanks to a unique program designed to bring together art, commerce and the community.

The Sixth Annual Fifth Avenue Storefront Art Walk will take place starting May 16 in stores on Fifth Avenue between 68th and 84th streets[…]

Read more at brooklyneagle.com.

2015 Artists Announced

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Friday, March 6 2015
Contact: Heather Hamilton
[email protected] | (718) 748-6505
www.BayRidgeSaw.org | www.facebook.com/bayridgesaw

Bay Ridge Storefront Art Walk (SAW) Announces 2015 Participating Artists
2015 to be the 6th Consecutive Year for SAW in Brooklyn

Bay Ridge, Brooklyn – The Storefront Art Walk (SAW) announced its 2015 participating artists. SAW, an annual event in its 6th year, is sponsored by the 5th Avenue Business Improvement District, Red Hook Winery, and SixPoint Brewery. This year there will be fifteen artists working with a variety of visual media to present individual art projects in storefront windows. From 68th Street all the way to 84th Street on 5th Avenue in Bay Ridge, the event will feature artwork as varied as the participating businesses.

SAW was created in 2010 by local business owners John Avelluto (The Owl’s Head Wine Bar) and Heather Hamilton (Long’s Wine & Liquors) as a way to showcase the diverse community of Bay Ridge and give it a unique platform for engagement and dialogue with the visual arts. By supporting and promoting emerging local artists and celebrating local Bay Ridge businesses, SAW broadly explores the intersection between commerce, art and community. While Bay Ridge is home to many artists, the neighborhood is under-served and underfunded in terms of public arts spending and grants.

The artists were selected by a jury of five based on artistic merit, feasibility, and an ability to successfully engage with the Bay Ridge community. The members are the jury included Anna Lise Jensen, a SAW 2013 Artist, Maureen Drennan, a SAW 2014 Artist, Jason Andrew, co-founder/director of Norte Maar and co-owner of OUTLET, Jillian Steinhauer, Senior Editor for Hyperallergic, and Leigh Holliday Brannan, owner of The Art Room Bay Ridge.

John Avelluto is particularly excited about this year’s group of artists, “Each year we hope for a diverse group of artists who will bring a great atmosphere to the vibrant stretch of businesses on 5th Avenue. It’s clear that the jurors did great job in selecting the 2015 group of artists. I have no doubt that residents of Bay Ridge and visitors alike will be blown away by the range of styles and concepts they’ll see unveiled soon.”

Each artist will be paired with a 5th Avenue business and will create a unique installment with the particular business in mind. There is no cost to the merchant and the artist will install their own work. Beginning on May 16, 2015 each SAW artist will display in a storefront window so that Bay Ridge residents and visitors alike can enjoy the unique pieces while outside the establishment. Walking maps will be distributed at participating businesses.

The list of participating artists and their websites are as follows:

Marisa Tesauro www.marisatesauro.com
Isabelle Garbani www.isabellegarbani.com
Salim Hasbini www.salimhasbini.com
Ray Lin artanis-one.daportfolio.com
Sebastian Carrasco www.sebastiancarrasco.com
Julia Whitney Barnes www.juliawhitneybarnes.com
Deanna Lee www.deannaclee.net
Amanda Hunt N/A
Yeol Jung www.yeol.co
Jeannine Bardo www.jeanninebardo.com
Liz Atzberger lizatz.com
Margeaux Walter www.margeauxwalter.com
Katherine Toukhy www.katherinetoukhy.com
Christina Massey www.cmasseyart.com
Kristine Robinson N/A